Minute Meditations

This is a post to rave about minute meditation books, and insist that everyone have one. Minute meditation books are awesome – filled with short meditations for everyday of the year. I’m not neurotically committed to it, but I like it best for those exhausted nights when the only thing I want to do once I’m ready for bed is to crash and “zzzzzz!!!” On such nights, I find the best form of prayer is a simple prayer I can whole heartedly be absorbed in – even just for a few minutes. The book I have consists of a short bible quote, with some considerations to dwell on for a few minutes. Then there is an invocation typically directed to Our Lord (unless it is a special feast of a great saint, such as Our Lady or St.Joseph).

The other night, this particular minute meditation really jumped out at me as one that every twenty something (or teen) could benefit from. So here it is:

“If we live, we live for the Lord, and if we die, we die for the Lord. Both in life and in death we are the Lord’s.” – Romans 14:8

Reflection: We belong to the Lord both in life and in death! This gives every human life a particular meaning, a particular goal, and also a special dedication. It casts a comforting and victorious light on every suffering, every sadness. and every trial. 

Prayer: Good Father, let me never forget that I am always completely Yours. 

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

